Prevent modpack updates from overwriting installed worlds

When updating a modpack that includes a pre-installed world, CurseForge automatically replaces the existing world with the new one. This can cause players to lose all their progress without warning.

Instead of overwriting existing worlds, CurseForge should automatically rename the newly installed/updated world by adding a number to its folder name, such as "World (1)", "World (2) etc.

This would allow players to keep their existing worlds while still receiving the updated ones included with the modpack.

It would be a simple but important improvement for modpacks that come with custom worlds.

  • Guest
  • Oct 25 2026
  • Future consideration
  • Attach files

Hold on!

Before you post your idea…

This board is being moderated, if you wish for your idea(s) to go public, please consider the following:

  1. Search for existing ideas

    If your idea already exists, vote for it, this will increase the chances for the idea to become reality. Duplicate ideas only split and lower votes

  2. No tech-support

    This board is for new ideas and feature suggestions, for technical issues or bug reports, visit/contact CurseForge Support

  3. English only

    This ensures that the idea is accessible to a wider audience and makes it easier for others to understand and vote for the idea

  4. No profanity

    Any ideas posted with foul language will not be published and get deleted

  5. Stay on point

    Avoid posting 'lists' of different ideas, we won't be able to address them with a proper status and they will get less votes from others, each idea should have its own post